TMS Distinguished Colloquium Series 2022-2023


Turkish Math Society proudly presents a monthly Distinguished Colloquium Series in pure and applied mathematics. With the wide usage of online talks in the post-pandemic era, we aim to host renowned mathematicians from all over the world to promote the latest developments in their fields.

(Click to visit TMD Distinguished Colloquium 2021-2022 page.)

Organizing Team

Erhan Bayraktar (U. Michigan), İlker Birbil (U. Amsterdam), Kazım Büyükboduk (UC-Dublin), İzzet Coşkun (U. Illinois – Chicago), Barış Coşkunüzer (UT Dallas), Burak Erdoğan (U. Illinois – Urbana-Champaign), Sinan Güntürk (NYU-Courant), Özlem İmamoğlu (ETH Zürich), Gizem Karaali (Pomona C.), Ekin Özman (Boğaziçi U.), Özgür Yılmaz (University of British Columbia).

Talk 1

Date: Tuesday, September 20, 2022
12pm (New York) / 5pm (London) / 7pm (Istanbul)

Speaker: METE SONER – Princeton University

Title: OPTIMAL CONTROL

Abstract: Starting with the moon-landing problem, the mathematical theory of  optimal control has been fully developed and found numerous applications not only in engineering but also in many subfields of social sciences. In particular, in economics and quantitative finance, stochastic optimal control has become a  central modeling tool, and is the starting point for many modern learning algorithms.  The unifying paradigm is decisions under uncertainty and one imagines that a rational decision maker is guided by an appropriate control problem.  In this talk, after describing the structure of the general problem, I will outline the powerful solution technique based on dynamic programming.  Several applications such as the Kalman filter used in automated machines,  Merton’s problem for optimal investment decisions and the Ellsberg experiment for uncertainty will also be discussed.  I will conclude with the new developments and the questions.

Poster👆

Zoom Link 👆

Video Recording 👆

Talk 2

Date: October 18, 2022 9:30 (New York), 14:30 (Londra), 16:30 (Istanbul)

Speaker: BJORN POONEN – Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Title: UNDECITABILITY IN NUMBER THEORY

Abstract: Undecidability in number theory Abstract: Hilbert’s tenth problem asked for an algorithm that, given a multivariable polynomial equation with integer coefficients, would decide whether there exists a solution in integers. Around 1970, Matiyasevich, building on earlier work of Davis, Putnam, and Robinson, showed that no such algorithm exists. But the answer to the analogous question with integers replaced by rational numbers is still unknown, and there is not even agreement among experts as to what the answer should be.

Poster👆

Zoom Link 👆

Video Recording 👆

Talk 3

Date: November 15, 2022

10:00 (New York), 15:00 (Londra), 18:00 (Istanbul)

Speaker: ISABEL VOGT – Brown University

Title: INTERPOLATION PROBLEMS FOR CURVES

Abstract: The interpolation problem is one of the oldest in mathematics.  In its most broad form it asks: when can a curve of a given type be passed through a given number of points?  I’ll survey work on the interpolation problem from Euclid to the modern day, ending with recent joint work of mine with Eric Larson.

Poster👆

Zoom Link 👆

Video Recording 👆

Talk 4

Date: December 20, 2022

11:00 (New York), 16:00 (Londra), 19:00 (Istanbul)

Speaker: Maria Chudnovsky – Princeton University

Title: Induced Subgraphs and Tree Decompositions

Abstract: Tree decompositions are a powerful tool in both structural graph theory and graph algorithms. Many hard problems become tractable if the input graph is known to have a tree decomposition of bounded “width”. Exhibiting a particular kind of a tree decomposition is also a useful way to describe the structure of a graph. Tree decompositions have traditionally been used in the context of forbidden graph minors; bringing them into the realm of forbidden induced subgraphs has until recently remained out of reach. Over the last couple of years we have made significant progress in this direction, exploring both the classical notion of bounded tree-width, and concepts of more structural flavor. This talk will survey some of these ideas and results.

Poster👆

Zoom Link 👆

Video Recording 👆












YouTube
YouTube